I didn’t bother listening to the whole diavlog since I had other stuff to do I should have started a few days ago, but when I saw that Mark Kleiman had a plan for halving the prison population while reducing crime I had to check it out. He seems to support the Bryan Caplan view of drug addiction as not any sort of uncontrollable disease but something highly responsive to incentives. The economist Glenn Loury interjects that there’s no way criminals are rational actors, and Kleiman agrees. So does Bryan Caplan. There are still ways to incentivise their behavior, however. I’m still wary of Kleiman because despite recognizing how awful the “war on drugs” has been, he opposes legalization in the hopes of his favored technocratic solution being implemented, with no reason to believe such a thing will ever occur other than the sheer inspiring nature of Barack Obama.