Via the Hoover Hog, a new antinatalist blog.

Via Ilkka, several variations on Stuff White People Like. Stuff Asian People Like is interesting in light of Half Sigma’s belief that the proprietor of SWPL was Korean, but an entry like Bad Pronunciation isn’t so much about their likes as just what they do. Stuff Educated Black People Like is quite similar to SWPL, but it strikes me as a major difference that the obsession with status markers is explicit here, whereas the rampant denialism among SWPL’s targets is a major part of the joke. The addition of “educated” (previously a background assumption) opens up the door for sites on the alternative, perhaps more along the lines of Cobb’s more down-scale post Stuff Black People Like. Who will make the site on non-educated whites, Jim Goad? Will all varieties of white trash be represented? For those of you unaware, the main prototypes are the West Virginia hillbilly, Boston lunkhead, Mississippi trailer trash, Jersey guido and Bakersfield speed-freak.

Ross Douthat responds to Tyler Cowen’s request for the best American 20th century conservative books, mostly with neo-conservatives. Many readers may be tired of my constant bashing of neo-conservatives, but like Steve Sailer I actually have a fairly high opinion of the earlier generation of social scientists that critiqued the stagnant liberalism of the 70s, before their lesser progeny (and Norman Podhoretz, though he was little more than a Normal Mailer critic in the first place) became associated with insane Wilsonianism. One I had never heard of before is Edward Banfield. You can read many of his works for free here, (and on the subject of free online reading, I hereby pledge to put Bertrand de Jouvenel’s On Power online at some time during this summer). I myself became a libertarian in no small part due to the neocons and their institutions. I was reading Milton Friedman’s Chicago School insights by way of Thomas Sowell (who has to my embarrassment written a lot of hackish dreck as of late) and the Charles Murray-AEI critique of the welfare state (though I’m not sure if I read any of Murray himself). I knew nothing of Burnham, Kirk or Weaver though the influence of Nisbet might have trickled down to me. I thought that’s what conservatism was (or at least hating Clinton and the left), so I was a conservative. Then when I heard that there was another ideology called “libertarianism” and that it advocated minimal government in any sphere whether economic or private, I recognized it as what I had already believed thinking I was a conservative. UPDATE: Dissent gives a thorough explanation of the history of the term “neoconservative” here.

2Blowhards has a post on the Stiglitz assessment of the costs of the Iraq war, but the main attraction is the spat in the comments between Mencius Moldbug and Greg Cochran. My opinion is that, like always, Cochran wipes the floor with his counterpart. I plan on having a sequel to the Moldbug Transcripts up relatively shortly which will cover a lot of the same territory. Previously they went at it at 2Blowhards here. I posted Greg’s thoughts on military spending here.

Odessa Syndicate gives its mission statement. I think they had one of those earlier, but this is a clarification.

Kevin Carson has joined the blog Art of the Possible and in his first post explains the evolution of his political thought. Mona of Unqualified Offerings has also joined. Charles “Radgeek” Johnson has jumped into the fray started by Knapp & UO’s Jim Henley and expanded upon by Carson.

