I haven’t read his book, but I yack about it a lot anway. I’m watching it right now, I’ll discuss my thoughts when I finish.

Some thoughts before then: Brin, who has a somewhat lefty anti-elitist progressive-populist (by those latter terms I mean he sees the lot of The People having improved over time as the nobility were crushed) streak to him, has suggested that rather than trying to limit government libertarians should seek to make it transparent. I have less faith in the people. Letting people know what pork a Congressman puts in makes him more popular with his constituents. He is also worried about gerrymandering, which along with supposedly hacked Diebolds, failed to be anywhere near as crippling to Democrats as they imagined in the 2006 midterms and to debunk another myth do not cause polarization. I think easier access to information in general is good, but I don’t expect it to achieve libertarian goals. When many people hear about the awful things the government does, they cheer.

UPDATE: Wow, I would not want to have been in Jim Pinkerton’s position putting up with Brin. A lesser righty would have tried to match the shouting and hyperbole, though I do think Jim dwells a bit too much in the past. For all David’s hatred of the actions of the Bush administration, it turns out (thanks to one of the commenters at bloggingheads) he supported their biggest blunder. Another “libertarian” Iraq hawk of the type Bryan Caplan is puzzling over here.

