Among the more readable books I’ve read in a while. Interesting ideas told engagingly, with a bit of a sense of humor that doesn’t distract from the science. When you finish one chapter you’ll want to go on to the next, then you’ll want another one, and before you know it you’ll have gobbled it up. This isn’t just a popularization of stuff smart people should already be expected to understand. I myself habitually fall back into thinking about a great Evolutionary Adaptive Period which must swamp any puny changes since then, Cochran & Harpending show that’s mistaken and the consequences are important. Everyone should read it, recommend it to your friends and family.

On a completely unrelated note, the blogger at Calculated Exuberance wants to build a larger readership and requested a link. I’m happy to oblige and state that I think that’s a clever blog title.

