I’m sympathetic toward all the positions Karl Smith takes here. People tell me that I’m fairly “flat” in my affect. I am more likely to be indifferent and think a particular event is no big deal. I see lots of behavior I regard as foolish and unproductive counter-reaction to situations. I’d like to think this is because I have observed tendencies in the real world of people to make such mistaken overreactions and in response try to carefully avoid that bias, but I suspect it is more likely I am voicing the opinion of random genes whose indexical location in my body has no correlation with any truths about reality. And I doubt I’ll remember to avoid that bias because it cuts against the opinions I actually hold. So unless you establish a track record of my accuracy, it may be a good idea to discount dovish statements I make.

